Three Poems I Am Lovin’…..

Because of the move and a mail mixup [insert long story here] I just received my copy of Shenandoah’s issue dedicated to writer Flannery O’Connor.  Todd Davis has the opening poem titled “The Girl Who Taught A Chicken to Walk Backwards.”  The ending lines have been running through my head all weekend: “at some point we must take a step backwards/to see whether we’re frying in the fat of our sins/or whether love, when we try to own it, must become/beautifully misshapen.” 

*****

The Cimarron Review has post some audio clips of poems.  I love the work, “Gladetown Cemetery” by poet Jack Christian.  Read/Listen to his poem here.  Christian’s poetry is new to me; I did a quick google search but couldn’t find out whether or not he has a book out.  If anyone knows, please let me know.

*****

Last, but not least, I have been reading Sherry O’Keefe’s  fine chapbook, Making Good Use of August.  Sherry and I “met” through the blogging world and we did a quick chapbook swap.  Sherry’s whole chapbook is wonderful, with thoughtful nods towards sense of place and people, but I was especially taken with the title poem “Making Good Use of August”.  You can read it/listen to it here.

1 Comment »

  1. oh (*quiet wow*), how good to hear my poetry took you places.
    thank you for sharing this!

    meanwhile, i’m taken by your poetry. you’ve such an honest voice, and your poems feel as though they are talking to mine. i look forward to this next chapbook (it won’t stay rejected for long!)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

