A Month of Detours

February started off with a detour.  And I haven’t been able to get back on track (with either regular life or my own writing) since.

Yes, here in Western Pennsylvania/New York, we missed many of the big named snowstorms (Nemo, I’m talking about you!), but we’ve had our share of Lake Effect Snow.  At the start of the month, I had to battle many days of uneasy travel to my job, and one morning, I had to take a detour, because of an accident, through the icy Alleghenies.  The hills and farmhouses, covered in sparkling white snow, were beautiful.  The road was not.

Since that drive, I’ve had major projects to complete for school, a start of a new class, and more prep for my Modern Novel class, a course that I don’t get to teach very often and requires a lot of extra reading.  (Right now, we are finishing Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut — not my favorite, but my students love him!)

Then, there was a family member who had an accident (he is fine), an elderly father who was sick (he’s feeling better now), and a friend who was diagnosed with stage four kidney failure (he and his wife are coping).

Plus, we are dealing with a clogged drain that is causing some water in our basement (we are working on that issue…)

And…we are facing another storm that may make for another fun trip to work in the morning!

Still, I know, that like all detours, one eventually gets back on the original route towards his or her destination.  I want to find that route soon!

4 Comments »

  1. Sending you good thoughts and hopes for a direct route soon.

  2. Wishing you safe and happy travels – in both your car and life!

  3. Sigh… I’m sending good vibes your way.

  4. kweyant Said:

    Thanks everyone! — I’m sure March will be so much better!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

