December Roosting

I woke up this morning to December.  Where does the time go?  We got some snow a few days ago, but most of it is now gone.  The new week or so calls for very nice weather.

Last month I let my poems return home.  I haven’t sent them back out and indeed, I am letting my work roost a bit. Currently, I have 32 rejections for the year, so it doesn’t look like I am even going to come close to my 100 rejection mark.  That’s okay.  This goal has pushed me to be a more active submitter, and that is a good thing.  I However, I also got some acceptances.  The one I am the most excited about is the fact that Spitball accepted my poem “My Father Never Played Baseball.”  Spitball is a literary journal that focuses on baseball, and when I wrote my small set of baseball poems, I definitely felt out of my element.  Again, that is a good thing. 

I haven’t done a lot of poetry writing in the last few weeks.  Regular readers of the Scrapper Poet know that I am investigating the genre of the short story.  I sent one story out, and am eagerly awaiting a rejection!

This weekend is the calm before the storm.  Next week, the end of the semester papers and tests will come drifting in.  Then, December will really get interesting.

1 Comment »

  1. Best wishes on the fiction and congrats on the Spitball acceptance! I have been in Spitball, too. I didn’t realize they were on the web now, so thanks for that link. I’m in Winter 1982, but it looks just like Spring 1981, the one pictured on the History page. Yes, History, sigh…so I connect with your time going by theme….


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

