Reluctantly, August

Yes, it’s August.  Yes, I know that every year, summer goes by too quickly. Sigh.

With only a few weeks before school starts, I’m scrambling a bit to get ready for the new school year. The building that holds my office at JCC is under construction, so I have been working at home and of course, I’m finding that half the stuff I need to prepare for the new year is in my office.  The office I can’t get to…

 On the poetry front, I have started the new month by doing my least favorite thing about the publishing world: contacting literary journals to see about the status of submissions.  I know editors are busy and I know that most journals are made up of volunteers, but if your  guidelines state that response time is 2 – 4 months, and after 6 months I haven’t heard a peep from you, then you will probably get a note from me, even if it’s to figure out if my submission has been lost in the shuffle.

Still, August has started out on a good note with an acceptance in my inbox.  Now, I want to spend some time working on new poems for fall submissions.  And, by the look of the temperatures outside, I will also be preparing for another heat wave.

Leave a Reply

