April: The Month of No Poetry Writing

I admire people who actually get to write poetry during National Poetry Month.  I really do.  It’s just that April is the end of the school semester for me, and this past month, between grading and traveling and giving readings, I’m afraid that I didn’t get a lot of new poems done.   Furthermore, I think literary journals have been doing a bit of spring cleaning, since I received six rejections — two from journals that I thought forgot about me.  And no acceptances. Blah.

Still, it was a good month in many ways.  I sold more chapbooks and as I mentioned before, I’ve been “tickled pink” (as my mother used to say) about the positive response.  I am taking part in the Big Poetry Book Give Away, so if you haven’t signed up yet, you need to do so really soon!  (And thanks to everyone who left replies saying that they already purchased Wearing Heels in the Rust Belt).  I will announce the winners on the first of May!

Leave a Reply

