Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011!

I’ve been blog reading this morning, looking at bloggers’ reviews of 2010 and their resolutions for 2011.  I have to say that 2010 was a quiet year for me, and not as productive (in the writing sense) as I would have really liked.  Of course, I did some traveling, and we bought a house and moved, and that certainly was a big transition, so perhaps I should be a bit more forgiving.

Resolutions for the new year?  Last year, I noted that my resolutions were rather vague.  Perhaps that is why I wasn’t that productive.  For those of you involved in teaching, you know that right now, assessment and the language of assessment is the big “trend” right now.  Certainly, my resolutions for 2010 were not “measurable” by any means.  So, this year, I am going to try a bit harder.

Resolution Number One:  I have always admired the way that Sandy talks about the drafting/writing process on her blog.  While I can’t promise that I will write weekly posts about my own personal writing process, I am making a commitment to draft at least one poem a week.  That, I think, I can do.

Resolution Number Two:  I am constantly amazed at the number of literary journals that are out there that I don’t know about.  While I do support the literary community (I have a number of subscriptions to journals of all shapes and sizes), I want to read a new journal (new to me) once a month and post my reactions on this blog. 

Resolution Number Three:  Last year, I joined a GoodReads Poetry Group where we were asked to read to read at least 20 poetry books and post reviews of these books online.  I made that goal — and I want to do the same this year.  I didn’t always post my reviews on my blog, so this year I want to make sure that I do record the review here as well as on GoodReads.

Resolution Number Four:  This is an easy one.  I want to continue to keep track of what I read.  Again, I did that last year, and it was fun following my reading patterns.

It’s going to be quiet tonight, but Anthony and I are traveling again tomorrow.  Have a safe and happy New Year!

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the shout out. The process posts have proved really helpful to me in ways I’m still struggling to articulate. The poem a week goal is one I feel good about and hope it works for you as well.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Love your list!! I am so glad you can keep track, as I always lose track. Sigh… (Last year I also tried to keep track of movies seen or re-seen…and lost track of that, too.) I also love Sandy’s process blog!! And I so appreciate your Goodreads poetry list and reviews. Looking forward to learning more from you in 2011. Safe travels, and a happy quiet Eve to you.

  3. Good resolutions – Happy New Year!

  4. sonofwalt Said:

    You have me thinking on this New Year’s day about my own resolutions. Just last night someone told me he was convinced the surest way to make certain you don’t accomplish something is to make it a New Year’s resolution! Ah well, seriously though, without a plan I tend to get nothing done, and time slides by without accomplishment. That old saying about aiming at nothing being a sure way to hit nothing comes to mind.

    I started my blog as an exercise to keep me writing and since I have had fits and starts at being more focused and specific. I have some goals for this year, including where to submit, and I really like your second resolution about reading new literary journals. I think I’ll adopt that one myself.

    Thanks, by the way for the encouragement and the discussion with that small group of us at Bloomsburg University this past semester. Attendance was not great, but you were greatly appreciated!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

