Dear November,

This morning I scraped you off my windshield — along with the first hard frost and stray Maple leaves crinkled at the edges.  I haven’t found my gloves from last winter, and I really did not want to break out my winter coat, but I did.  I don’t mind the winter when it finally comes, but those cold mornings filled with my breath and numb fingers make me want my summer days back.  I love Autumn, but somehow October went by in a flurry of fog and soggy leaves.  I can’t help but think that a first snow will make everything clean and beautiful.

****This little post above is the closest I have come to writing a poem in the last week or so.  I’m behind with my grading.  I’m behind with my drafting.  I’m behind with my emails.  I’m even behind with reading blogs. Here’s hoping that November will be kind and I can catch up! 

5 Comments »

  1. After a day of squall and storm yesterday, today I got to walk by a river, visit truffle-sniffing potbellied pigs and horses in a field. Bam! Felt grateful, but definitely digging through boxes to find warm sweaters and gloves…

  2. Karen Weyant Said:

    Ugghhh…I’m trying to find all my warm clothes I packed away! 🙂

  3. Erin Said:

    I love your imagery; beautifully put, Karen! Miss you and Tony. Take care of yourself..and tell that goon to give me a call sometime.

  4. Karen Weyant Said:

    Thanks Erin, for stopping by! Next time you are in Warren, you have to come by the house — and meet our two new kittens.

    I will pass on your message to Anthony!

  5. Great imagery and timely. I am behind on it all as well. Somehow it will all get done, if history offers any insight. Hang in there.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

