Tuesday Quiz — and Confession

I enjoy reading both Kelli and January’s confessions every Tuesday, but never tried such a post of my own.  I discovered these interview questions in a recent issue of Entertainment Weekly (and they sounded like fun), so here we go: my version of a confessional post through a quiz.

1.   Q: What classic have you never read?  A: Stephen Crane’s The Red Badge of Courage.  I love Crane’s poetry, and I did significant research regarding class issues in Crane’s Maggie: A Girl of the Streets, but I have never read his Civil War novel.

2.  Q: How about that classic that you’ve never read but pretended you did?  A:  Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.  When I was an undergrad I took this great class titled Formative Masterpieces and Moby Dick was on the reading list.  I loved the class, but could not get through this whale of a book! (Sorry, Dr. Blevins).  However, years later I did read a book titled In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel Philbrick.  This work of nonfiction was based on the true story behind Melville’s white whale.  And this book was fascinating.

3.  Q: Which author would you really like to meet?  That’s easy.  Tawni O’Dell.  I love her work about rural Pennsylvania.  And I just visited her website to find out she has a new book out.  I once dropped her a fan letter via email; she never responded.  She probably thought I was some sort of Internet stalker.

As for poets?  That’s another easy answer.  Paula Bohince.  However, Paula and I have already kinda met via email.  Still, I would love to sit down, do lunch, and chat poetry and Pennsylvania.

So there you have it!  Do you have responses to these questions?  Feel free to post them here or on your own blog.

3 Comments »

  1. I, too, never finished “Moby Dick,” but I feel like I did. On the other side of the ocean, it took me 3 tries in grad school before I actually made it all the way through “Bleak House,” although I was able to write about it as if I had finished it during several grad school class exams.

    Here’s my guiltiest confession, which I haven’t thought of in years. I actually read the CliffsNotes for “Bleak House” during my first term of grad school because I was so afraid of taking the final exam without knowing what happened for sure (and I had run out of reading time)–ah, the days before online resources that would have allowed me to look up plotlines in the privacy of my home!

  2. I have never read Moby Dick, which I feel esp. bad about b/c Herman Melville has local (Pittsfield MA) connections. But my husband has, and I did read Ahab’s Wife, which is just as massive & so I think counts somewhat.

    And even though I adore Dickens, I have never finished David Copperfield. I remember quite clearly that I gave up on page 171 and threw, yes, threw my copy across the room. I simply couldn’t stand the character of David one more minute — he’s such a whiner!

  3. Karen Said:

    Ha! I love Dickens — made it through David Copperfield, but not Bleak House. And I forgot about Ahab’s Wife. I read that book, too (and actually finished it!)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

