The Year in Review: Best Poetry Collections

In Part Two of  my “Best Of..” posts, I have listed my top 10 full-length poetry collections of the year.  I did not rank them; instead, I only listed them in order by the poet’s last name:

  1.  Temper by Beth Bachman (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  2. Mistaken For Song by Tara Bray (Persea Books)
  3.  Allegheny, Monongahela by Erinn Batykefer (Red Hen)
  4. The Hardship Post by Jehanne Dubrow (three candles press)
  5. Ohio Violence by Alison Stine (U of North Texas Press)
  6. The Brother Swimming Beneath Me by Brent Goodman (Black Lawrence Press)
  7. Perpetual Care by Katie Cappello (Elixir)
  8. Blue Collar Eulogies by Michael Meyerhofer (Steel Toe Books)
  9. Holding Everything Down by William Notter (Southern Illinois University Press)
  10. My Kill Adore Him by Paul Martinez Pompa (University of Notre Dame Press)

I limited myself to ten with the above list, but as we all know, lists are subjective, and if I wrote this list tomorrow, I would probably change my mind. So, I must mention other great collections, some I have professionally reviewed (or will review) for other sites and journals: Midnight Voices by Deborah Ager,  Cradle Song by Stacey Lynn Brown, Wild Rose Asylum by Rachel Dilworth, From the Fever-World by Jehanne Dubrow, Dirt Sandwich by Linda Annas Ferguson, American Fractal by Timothy Green, Dear Apocalypse by K.A. Hays, I Have to Go Back to 1994 and Kill a Girl by Karyna McGlynn, Cold Mountain Elementary by Mark Nowak, Bad River Road by Debra Nystrom and Torched Verse Ends by Steven D. Schroeder.

7 Comments »

  1. Wow! Great list, Karen. Thanks for sharing it and the honorable mentions. I will now be extending my to-read list.

  2. Karen Weyant Said:

    Oh Sandy, You have no idea. I am on a list craze — I have another post coming up about books to look forward to….

  3. Thanks for the mention, Karen. The others on the list look great.

  4. Hey, Karen. Wow, just saw this! Thanks!! 🙂

  5. Karen Weyant Said:

    2009 was a great poetry year. 2010 is shaping up to be another great year!

  6. Hi Karen, I am flattered that you listed my book on your blog. I Goggled you and love your work as well. I grew up in a mill village. My fourth book, Bird Missing from One Shoulder, is about that experience. Have you ever read Sherry Fairchok’s work. She was published by CavanKerry Press. It is called The Palace of Ashes. I think you would like it. I did make AWP. (smile) You missed a grand time. Perhaps our paths will cross at the DC AWP next year. All my best. Linda Annas Ferguson

  7. Karen Weyant Said:

    Thanks Linda so much for stopping by..I enjoy your work very much and have added Bird Missing From One Shoulder to my reading list. I love Sherry Fairchok’s work — Palace of Ashes is one of my top favorites of all time!!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

