My Life Besides Rain

If you come to Western New York, you will hear everyone complaining about the wet and cool summer we have been having.  The truth is that I don’t mind cool summers at all.  I don’t even mind the rain.  However, the last few days have been crazy.  We’ve had flooding (we,  meaning people in Western New York; Anthony and I are fine) and dangerous thunderstorms.  I have been wading through streets and sidewalks of water way past my ankles.  I would like some dry weather.  And I know I have readers who could use the rain, so I am wishing some of our moisture your way.

In other news, I am in my last week at Chautauqua working under poet Julia Kasdorf.  Julia is discussing both prompts and poems based loosely on various elements from Richard Hugo’s The Trigging Town.  Good fun, so far.  I already have two new drafts of poems.

Finally, I have decided to join the Chautauqua Literary & Scientific Circle, which is a book club considered to be one of the oldest (if not the oldest), continuous book club in America.  So, if you ever see me marking a blog site as CLSC, you will know what I am talking about.  What I like about this book club is that it will force me to read books I don’t usually read (but probably should), such as books about politics and economics.  But I’m not too worried.  There are also biographies, history books, poetry and fiction on the list!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Books } { Tags: Good Reading, Karen Armstrong } A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I had joined the CLSC – the oldest continuous book club in America.  And I have to say that I picked a great book […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

